Sorry, Not Sorry: Makeup

Dear World,

Sorry, but I’m not sorry for wearing makeup. I enjoy applying it on my face. I enjoy shopping for it. I enjoy feeling pampered and totally smoking hot. Mind you, that’s my definition of smoking hot, not yours. When I wear makeup, I do it for me, and no one else. I’m sorry that you feel “I look better without it.” and that “I look like a slut” when I do. Some days, I wear my makeup for me, and no one else.
Other days, however, I wear it for my friends. The strangers I pass on the way to the supermarket. That cute boy down the hall. My motivations, nonetheless, are none of your business, so sorry if you feel they aren’t good enough.
Image

***Inspired by this thread on Goodreads***

***Image curtsey of this lovely lady***

6 thoughts on “Sorry, Not Sorry: Makeup

  1. I think there is this flaw in how certain feminists think. That if we wear makeup or revealing clothes that we’re holding women back. Honestly, women having the right to take control of their sexuality is step forward! There are women around the world that are thrown into jail if they show an ankle.
    I will admit, sometimes I look at other women and think “you’re so much better than that, cover up just a little.” But that comes down to opinion and preference. Women have the right to do what they please, and that all in itself shows how far we’ve come.
    Thanks for this post!

    • Exactly! The modern feminist, in my eyes, is one that strives for the acceptance and equality of all, regardless of appearance, gender, or religion. Although the latter two categories get discussed a great deal, I feel as if appearance is often left out. Makeup is just one of many ways people are judged, and I must acknowledge that sometimes it’s hard not to. The important thing is to notice when we do it and realize it’s not our place to do so. Many thanks for the thought provoking comment and follow!

  2. 🙂 I love reading these. I cannot stand when people feel the need to comment about other peoples makeup choices. How about you do you. And when people try to shame you for wearing your makeup a certain way, its probably because they wish they had the guts to do it. Your makeup is gorgeous, by the way. If I looked that good in that lipstick, I would get it tattooed on.

    -Katie
    smoulderingviolet.wordpress.com

    • I read your comment and applaud! I hope others can learn to do the same. Thank you for your kind words, but this isn’t a picture of me! The lovely lady who’s image I used is linked above. 🙂

  3. Girl, whatever reasons you want to wear makeup are YOUR reasons and no one else’s. KUDOS TO YOU for having the balls to say it outloud. (P.S. Makeup is pretty amazing, and you’re damn talented at it. Keep it up. Us other addicts understand.)
    xoxo
    Linda

Leave a comment